HOME >> Sister Provinces&Cities

Wuhan - Sydney, Australia

Source: hubei.gov.cn

Sydney Opera House

Wuhan, capital of central China’s Hubei Province, and Sydney, the state capital of New South Wales, signed an agreement to established sister city relationship on August 6, 2015.

Hubei hopes that Wuhan could learn from Sydney in aspects of science and education, culture, environmental protection, city management and urban sustainable development.

Besides, Hubei University and University of Sydney (USYD) also signed a memorandum to jointly construct a China research center in USYD.

Sydney is the state capital of New South Wales and the most populous city in Australia and Oceania. Located on Australia’s east coast, the metropolis surrounds the world's largest natural harbor, and sprawls towards the Blue Mountains to the west. Residents of Sydney are known as “Sydneysiders”. Sydney is the second official seat, and second official residence, of the Governor-General of Australia, the Prime Minister of Australia and the Cabinet of Australia.

(hubei.gov.cn by Mao Huifang)